ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   ScoobyNet General (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/)
-   -   On a scale of 1 to 10????? (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/160836-on-a-scale-of-1-to-10-a.html)

HCMH 20 December 2002 09:06 AM

I am going to be a Scooby owner for the first time in the next month (very exciting!). I have read numerous threads on this BBS and it has been a massive source of info and great to see there is such a following.

I have always been lucky with the reliability of my previous cars (Westfield, Caterham & Lotus Elise) and I have always been led to beleive that Subaru are very reliable (in standard form). Can you guys assure me that this is the case as I am totally new to this car - thanks in advance.

HH

chrisp 20 December 2002 09:11 AM

They are if you keep them pretty much standard and follow service intervals, use good oil and fuel.

HCMH 20 December 2002 09:14 AM

Thanks Chris...which oil would you recommend? I have always used mobil 1 in the past - any good for Subaru?

chrisp 20 December 2002 09:39 AM

Many threads and issues over oil. If you intend using mobil 1 please stay way from the 0w40 version as its way too thin. I see you are from Italy so I dont know if you get the Mobil 1 Motorsport 15W50 which is what a lot of people use. I personally use Silkolene Pro S 15W50 ( I think) fully synthetic. Best to check with your local dealer what they recommend as you may invalidate a warranty be using the wrong oil. Subaru UK use to recommend Shell helix. If it a new car then some people recommend a semi-synthetic upto about 7000 miles to allow the car to bed in and them swap to a fully synthetic. Best to have a look the techincal forums as there is plenty of info.

My oil is swapped every 2,500-3,000 miles which is what Subaru Japan recommend I think.

Cheers

ChrisP

HCMH 20 December 2002 09:50 AM

Cheers Chris,