ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   General Technical (https://www.scoobynet.com/general-technical-10/)
-   -   dump valve (https://www.scoobynet.com/general-technical-10/142489-dump-valve.html)

scoobyfella 19 October 2002 11:13 PM

Hi iv'e got a MY00 and i want to know if putting a better dump valve on is worthwhile as iv'e heard a lot about different types of valves as i am new to turbo motors don't know much about them.

If it is worth it can antone reccomend a good one, also do you know if it would affect u.k warranty.

How easy are they to fit i am pretty handy with basic tasks with engines but not sure about messing with this engine myself.

Thanks for any advise,

James

john banks 19 October 2002 11:19 PM

If you want noise and jerkiness go for it. If you original is not leaking keep it. I went for a Forge recirc and the jerkiness was horrible when I fitted a FMIC and I tried a few different springs. Car drives much smoother on the OEM DV. The original still makes a nice noise through an induction kit if you go that route, but best not to unless you are fitting a FMIC IMHO.

SCOSaltire 19 October 2002 11:22 PM

john, ur car must be a rocket by now

what power u producing?

scottywrx 19 October 2002 11:31 PM

James ...

Quite a few of us from Scoobycity have fitted Forge Motorsport dump valves (atmospheric ) on various models of Scoobs .. got mine from Wendy @ Scoobyworld (she made me an offer I could not refuse ! :D :D :D :D)

Fitting took me 20 mins on MY01 WRX ... no problems with performance etc etc ...

Some would say that replacement dump valves give no performance gain but certainly if you like the noise its the thing 4 u ..

Its a personal taste matter .. Some like them ... some dont....

I do .... :D :D :D :D

Scott
Visit Scoobycity

john banks 19 October 2002 11:44 PM

Hoping for 330-350 BHP at Star when I'm done.

Vanish 20 October 2002 11:51 AM

John