ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   ScoobyNet General (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/)
-   -   Poss diff fault (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/1052415-poss-diff-fault.html)

Crazytourist 29 January 2018 09:33 PM

Poss diff fault

Hi all,

im new to the scooby world a new to the site, so firstly would like to say hi everyone
i have a 2001 sti which I have not long bought but don’t feel right when driving it in car parks it feels like it binds up and clonks, also I have noticed when driving it hard it feels just rwd unless this is normal are they more rear wheel than fronts ?
If any one could give me some advice on this would be great or even just tell me this is how they drive,

Thank you

rickybobby 30 January 2018 04:25 PM

if it binds on slow tight turns you have a front diff problem (inside the gearbox). Friend of mine had the same, front wheel would skid/skip on 3 point turns etc. Replaced the box in the end.

The Trooper 1815 30 January 2018 05:14 PM

Originally Posted by Crazytourist (Post 11992208)
Hi all,

im new to the scooby world a new to the site, so firstly would like to say hi everyone
i have a 2001 sti which I have not long bought but don’t feel right when driving it in car parks it feels like it binds up and clonks, also I have noticed when driving it hard it feels just rwd unless this is normal are they more rear wheel than fronts ?
If any one could give me some advice on this would be great or even just tell me this is how they drive,

Thank you

They are Assymetric All Wheel Drive.

SouthWalesSam 30 January 2018 08:28 PM

By “driving it in car parks” I assume that’s during tight manoeuvre turns at low speeds.
In that case the skipping and clonking sounds like the centre diff has gone.

I had similar on a classic and managed to cure it with a £50 replacement from a breaker on here instead of the £900 that my local main stealer wanted.