getting started - Subaru Enthusiast Forum - ScoobyNet.com

Photography Hints, Tips and general help in the art of photography

getting started

Old 02 December 2015, 07:07 PM   #1
beef-on-the-bone
Scooby Regular

Default getting started

having only used fairly simple point and shoot compact cameras, after the birth of our daughter; my wife and I find ourselves wanting to take more and better photos
I'm an utter novice but my wife has a bit more experience, having access to a canon eos (assuming some sort of bridge camera, she doesn't know the model!) at work
a friend has kindly lent us the use of a samsung nx10 with an 18-55 lens (he's upgraded to an nx galaxy) we are finding it quite user friendly and the images are certainly better than what we're used to
we are a bit of a samsung family as far as household electronics go but seeing as the nx is getting on a bit we were wondering what would be a good starting point?? we're quite tempted by the galaxy too.....
we may end up going all David Bailey and really getting into it but a reasonable camera that we can take decent pictures with is all we're after
a bridge camera?? 400ish?? a nudge in the right direction would be greatly appreciated
beef-on-the-bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 December 2015, 08:07 PM   #2
hux309
Also known as daz

All depends really, I have a Samsung Nx3000 that I'm willing to part with for 120, it's good as a starter dslr, I'm fairly local if you fancied a play?

It all boils down as to how much you want from it really.
If you plan on taking the odd pot shot than a bridge camera would be fine, but if you want to take things further than you really can't beat a dslr.
I'll be about Saturday if you want to see my Samsung, or have a play with the opposite end my Pentax K3 with hopefully my limited lens.
hux309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 December 2015, 08:38 PM   #3
beef-on-the-bone
Scooby Regular