Notices
Other Marques Non-Subaru Vehicles

How does a company car & tax work?

Old 09 January 2007, 10:58 PM
mightyyid
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How does a company car & tax work?

Chaps

Sound like a nonce but here's a simple question of something I have no experience of.

Starting a new job soon, and given the level, I get the opportunity to have a company car. This will cost me £4,000 off my salary, which is fine (and apparently a smaller amount than they usually charge).

Therefore, given they will provide me with a list of cars that I can choose (have no idea what these are yet), I was assuming I can go and look at a website like comcar.co.uk where there is a tax calculator for cars. I'll be at the 40% mark.

When I put in a sample car (lets say 2007 WRX SL), I see the CO2 is at 35% - which I understand. So...

Then it asks if there is to be any one-off capital contributions to be made on the car up to £5,000 - is this worth it, as I assume it will be money that I have already been taxed on?

Then is asks about annual contributions - again, what's the thought process?

This would seem to indicate if I made no other payments, the car would cost £2,975 pa in tax, equating to £247 per month.

Finally, if the company is reducing my salary by £4,000 pa, does that have any relevance on this stage of the calculation or is this just the 'figure' they have provided which provides for the cost of the car?

Finally, I assume with company cars most if not all include insurance, tax and servicing. Is that fair to say?

Thanks for helping the ignorant idiot here in the corner.

Andy
Old 09 January 2007, 11:29 PM
zip106
Scooby Regular

They're taking £4k OFF your salary and then you are paying tax on the car - are you mad???

Normaly, as I see it ( wife has co. car) the car should be a benefit ,in addition to your salary.