Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Charging interest on late invoices?

Old 02 September 2010, 12:12 PM
Neanderthal
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Charging interest on late invoices?

Set up business by myself last year. Things have been going fine, however I'm finding that one client is really slow at paying invoices. When I agreed to undertake work for them we agreed on 30 days payment terms. This is written on the bottom of each dated invoice.
The last invoice I sent them (and subsequently handed in person 3 weeks later) is now 64 days old.

I don't have that many clients and I don't want to pee them off but I can't afford to be waiting 2+ months for payment so I'm thinking of charging interest on late payments in the hope that it'll encourage them to pay within the agreed timescales.

This is where I get stuck, is there a general %'age companies usually charge?

I'm still relatively new to all this stuff and hate the 'admin' side of working for yourself.

Matt
Old 02 September 2010, 12:17 PM
Oakers
Scooby Regular

Not sure on the exact amount but as long as you state on the terms of the invoice that you will charge them if they are late then I reckon 10% should be fine. You could run the risk of offending the client, so maybe add in a discount if they pay early?
Old 02 September 2010, 12:19 PM
Leslie
Scooby Regular

Sounds fair to me.

Les
Old 02 September 2010, 12:24 PM
Luminous
Scooby Regular

Always a hard one, but you have to bring it up with them. Companies know what they are doing when they are slow to pay. I do some websites for people, for me its easy. Invoice, reminder, "lights out"
Old 02 September 2010, 12:31 PM
Neanderthal
Scooby Regular

Yeah I wish I could hold back sending them the drawings until they've paid me.