Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Drum Kits

Search this Thread

Old 31 May 2007, 10:52 PM
J4CKO
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Drum Kits

My middle son is ten in a couple of weeks and he wants a drum kit and lessons, any drummers on here, what do we need to look for, is this any good ?

eBay.co.uk: New Complete, Full Size 7 Piece Pro Black Drum Kit -UK! (item 320117635342 end time 01-Jun-07 21:08:33 BST)

What are the electronic pad based ones like, we like the thought of no noise and the fact they take up less space but can you learn to drum on them ?
Old 31 May 2007, 11:14 PM
Mark Miwurdz
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Hi J4cko

I'm no expert having just started learning myself (at the tender age of 44). However, I've just bought an ex-demo Roland TD-03 and it rocks. I bought the one that's got the mesh head snare drum and it sounds like the real deal. You can plug your mp3 player in and gig along like like Bonzo or Peart and make a respectable sound. I have a lesson once a week on an acoustic kit and I have no problem switching between the two.

If space and noise wasn't a consideration, I'd go acoustic but electronic (for the time being) rocks!

Check out Roland's website at ROLAND MUSIC - REDIRECT and let your lad have a go locally.

Cheers
kav
Old 31 May 2007, 11:23 PM
unclebuck
Scooby Regular

Hate to admit it, but Bubba Poo is your man.

Have you seen the video of his son bashing away? Not bad at all - upstages the old man on guitar....

I expect someone can post the link, but he would be my first port of call....

Old 31 May 2007, 11:30 PM
J4CKO
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by unclebuck
Hate to admit it, but Bubba Poo is your man.

Have you seen the video of his son bashing away? Not bad at all - upstages the old man on guitar....

That just sounds wrong !
Old 31 May 2007, 11:39 PM
unclebuck
Scooby Regular

Smile

Originally Posted by J4CKO
That just sounds wrong !
LOL