Notices

1997 2000 Turbo coughing, backfiring, powerless and cutting out under acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 20 April 2013, 11:27 AM
scoobynshag
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1997 2000 Turbo coughing, backfiring, powerless and cutting out under acceleration

Hello all I'm new to Scoobynet and have the problem listed in the title, any ideas as i have been told its the MAF thats causing it, its the F type purple sensor type.

cheers
Old 20 April 2013, 01:04 PM
alcazar
Scooby Regular

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts

How does it idle? MAF failure shows in rough, uneven idling.

You don't say what mods you have, if any?
Old 20 April 2013, 03:08 PM
Firez34
Scooby Regular

Hey up ****, You've the same Maf as I have on my98 and my car was doing what you are describing. The MAF's are fixable. Undo the connector plug and undo the 2 screws that hold the connector to the Maf housing now behind are soldered pins and usually one of the soldered joints has failed. You need to be careful as it's still held in place via the soldered joints even though you have removed the 2 screws. Carefully lever the connector out a little at a time and then when it's out a bit lever it down and you'll gain enough room to get a small tipped soldering iron in and resolder all the connections even if they look fine. Carefully get the connector back in place, replace the 2 screws and put a bit of silicon around the housing to water proof it. Clean the Maf's strand and mesh with brake cleaner and refit the Maf. Test by starting the car and pray it was the connectors. It was on mine and It's been 100% for 6 months now.

Last edited by Firez34; 20 April 2013 at 03:09 PM.
Old 20 April 2013, 09:11 PM
Breadearnshaw
Scooby Newbie

Exactly the same issue I had with my 1998 Terzo, changed the maf and it sorted the problem
Old 20 April 2013, 10:48 PM
scoobynshag
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!