Overheating Problems 2006 Hawkeye STI

Search this Thread

Old 20 July 2012, 02:30 PM
darkmagic
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Overheating Problems 2006 Hawkeye STI

Dear All,

I'm new to all of this and have read many threads on this subject already but really need more advice/info please.

I have a 2006 STI Spec D with 64k on it. Had it for 18 months. (early 06)

3-4 months ago the engine temp would rise to half way then fall back down within a few minutes.

1 month ago the temp rose to full!! stopped the car as fast a poss and turned off the engine.

2 days later (and after much searching on the internet) I took the car to a garage. They removed the thermostat and tested it. It opened but just a little.

They recommended replacing it (bought a cheap aftermarket thermostat) filled it up with subaru super coolant then topped up with de-ionised water.

Bled/burped the car (many techniques were posted on the net), fans cylcing perfectly, bottom hose hot and temp perfect. Heater temp on full, fans to low.

Drove the car for 30-45 mins and the temp started rising rapidly. Pulled it over. Bottom pipe cold. Re-burped (several times) drove again and same happened. Resorvoir would overflow and chuck out most of the coolant.

Called the AA. They did a sniff test and said it was fine, said could still be an air lock. AA then took out the thermostat (the new aftermarket one I just put in) said it could be knackered and jammed it open.
Put the jammed thermo in, burped it and drove.

Car took a while to heat up as expected but temp was fine, car was fine, everything great apart from the fact that it's not a great idea to be driving for too long without a proper thermo.