Notices
Engine Management and ECU Remapping This section is to discuss the various aspects of engine management modification for your Subaru.

Forced open loop

Search this Thread

Old 19 August 2012, 07:32 PM
toneh
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Forced open loop

Are there any benefits to be had from full time open loop on what's basically a road car engine , just mafless , tgv deletess ,
I can understand for maybe different cams , certain maf set ups , race motor type builds
But for mine is it worth looking into ?

Tony
Old 20 August 2012, 05:12 PM
Dmacnz
Scooby Regular

I would of thought if the car was still being used on the street and under light load situations as well the Closed loop would be of benefit... But im only new to tuning!
Old 20 August 2012, 05:57 PM
john banks
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you are running speed density, particularly no as you will have AFR errors. Speed density using only MAP sensor and intake air temperature sensor is a poor method for estimating airflow. If you also have EMAP, coolant and EGT compensation with proven and tested models then possibly, then it might work.

If you have cats, absolutely not.

The easy way to answer for yourself experimentally is to look at your fuel trims during a typical journey from cold start involving cruise, stationary idle, with/without AC and power steering use and after hard use with heatsoak, plus warm start, all in a variety of weather conditions.
Old 20 August 2012, 06:39 PM
toneh
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by john banks
If you are running speed density, particularly no as you will have AFR errors. Speed density using only MAP sensor and intake air temperature sensor is a poor method for estimating airflow. If you also have EMAP, coolant and EGT compensation with proven and tested models then possibly, then it might work.

If you have cats, absolutely not.