Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

iTunes question

Search this Thread

Old 02 June 2006, 10:16 AM
judgejules
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question iTunes question

Howdy,

I've never used iTunes before as I've been an avid WinAmp user for many, many years. However, having just received a very nice engraved 60gb video iPod for my 30th I think I am forced to take the plunge.

I have around 400 albums (yes, all legit) ripped into artist then album sub-directories. I also have a very large VA (various artists) directory which contains mix albums etc.

I have imported my music into iTunes and am looking through my tunes with the browser. The problem I have is, I'm unable to browse by the playlists that I make in each folder, so I have to view it by Artist. However, because of my large VA folder, I have thousands of "one hit wonders" that have put their input into mixes etc.

Is there any way I can go back to browsing by the playlists that I manage without having hundreds and hundreds of playlists in the left navigation? Or is there a way I can exclude artists from a certain folder (VA) so it doesnt clutter up my selection? Or are there any better solutions to this problem?

Thanks in advance,

Jules
Old 02 June 2006, 10:55 AM
GaryK
Scooby Regular

What I do is create 'folders' and then put playlists into those folders. So I might have a folder called 'Greatest Hits' and all the greatest hits albums go into their own playlist within this folder. However the iPod doesnt utilise the folders and only deals with playlists so I always prefix the playlist with the artist name so that I can easily find stuff on my iPod, if that makes sense!

An example (in iTunes)

Gary Numan/Tubeway Army (Folder name)
|- Tubeway Army - Replicas (Playlist)
|- Gary Numan - Pleasure Principle (Playlist)