ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

The mighty GB270

Search this Thread

Old 25 November 2015, 08:57 PM
shaunys_gb270
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The mighty GB270

Hi all im very new to all this so please bare with me .

I have just bought my very first Subaru impreza wagon a gb270. I found this car for sale and it was like love at first sight and I had to have it.

Im really interested to now how far can you take these things i.e. performance wise whilst keeping the engine stock because I have heard a lot of story by people talking about chocolate pistons and all that tripe??
and every time I have to do a little modification I have to get it mapped all the time. so even if I change the air filter to a panel filter like a KnN I have to get it mapped and then again if I want to change the exhaust later on its life and so on and so forth. sorry for the rubbish questions but im brand new to all this and you alot have probably heard it all before.

just some advise would be great of anyone would be nice thank you for reading.
Old 26 November 2015, 12:38 AM
nortonscooby
Scooby Regular

Id say panel filter and backbox be fine wont really effect car but yes a remap will bring out a few more horses. Its only when you change to decat/sports cat and induction kits that a remap is needed. If you plan on changing turbo,intercooler etc id either have it all done at once or collect the parts gradually then fit before you get it mapped. That way you will only pay for one map instead of a map then paying for a map tweak as you add uprated parts. Also depends how far you want to go with it. Dont forget brakes and suspension upgrades aswell.
Old 26 November 2015, 08:45 AM
shaunys_gb270
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by nortonscooby