Projects For Serious DIY Car Projects

DIY Project: Motor adjustable ball and spring MBC

Search this Thread

Old 08 January 2017, 11:12 PM
Bazil_SW
Scooby Regular

Received 13 Likes on 8 Posts
Default DIY Project: Motor adjustable ball and spring MBC

Being a mechanical engineer I really like the simplicity of a ball and spring type MBC. They make the car feel ‘eger’ and smooth to drive and give a solid level of control and a boost curve that matches the best I've been able to get from the stock 2 port solenoid. They are really good for tuning as you can hit a wider range of load & rpm cases much more easily. I’m finding driving with it more than not. However there are 2* immediate problems, for me at least:

a) It still causes the shuddering as per this post: https://www.scoobynet.com/general-te...tain-rpms.html
b) They need manual adjustment to compensate for atmospheric changes, intake temps etc

*I’m sure they are others also, but these are the biggies for me.

I know there are cabin adjustable solutions from Turbosmart and Hallman, but liking a project I want something a little more elegant, so….. I’ve started this: A motor adjustable MBC with adjustable max. boost warning/indicator (I wanted a min. indicator to but couldn't fit it this time ). It has a steering column mounted adjustment using a car window switch for boost up/down.

I’ll be the first to admit that it’s the definition of contraption, but this is a prototype and I’m running it on my car now and have to say, it does work!

I already have some thoughts and ideas to improve the design and spotted some major bloopers in the design layout, particularly around the adjustable indicator. For one I’m thinking to replace the MBC female hex head adjuster with a normal M10 bolt and driving it with a deep hex socket, then mounting the spur gear directly to the outside of the socket. Or better still, if it can fit, mounting the motor and MBC inline, doing away with the gears altogether.