Projects For Serious DIY Car Projects

My Uk Turbo Impreza Classic

Search this Thread

Old 19 May 2014, 09:33 PM
jjayokocha
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My Uk Turbo Impreza Classic

I got my first Impreza (black 95 JDM WRX) as a part exchange on my Legnum VR-4 last August. Car hadn't been through an mot in over 2 years but lad was still driving it out the country roads to his work everyday.

It was meant as a project that I could fix up myself and get onto the road eventually as the wife has a diesel Golf, im a delivery driver so have a work van and no need for a car really.

The jdm impreza had plenty of extras, drove great but had worst rust ive seen on a car and wasn't worth trying to repair.

So back in Feb of this year I sold it on and came across a 1999 UK 2000 Turbo up the road from me for sale. Mot til Oct 2014 & tax March 2013 for £1,100. Owner was getting married and couldn't afford to keep it. All that's done is a decat, magnex exhaust system & hks panel filter.

He had decided to put a roof scoop over the sunroof and seal it both on the outside and inside. Car looked in great shape body wise and was driving perfect until the brakes were needed, he tried telling me front pads needed changed just but I knew it was more.

I got the car home and into my garage, car up on stands and wheels off. No brake pads left in either the front or rear, all the discs were now pitted. Handbrake was sticking on cause the shoes were welded onto the inside of the discs and the clutch finding it hard selecting reverse.

On the shopping list was front and rear grooved discs, Kevlar pads, new handbrake shoes and spring fitting kit, 1L mintex dot 5.1 brake fluid.

Managed to pick up near new rear grooved discs, Kevlar pads & standard front discs for £50 off a local lad and friend in motor factors gave me £20 off blueprint front pads so they only cost me £17.