Oil and coolant queries

Search this Thread

Old 27 November 2015, 07:17 PM
ewennicholls
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil and coolant queries

Hi All,

I'd like to stress now I'm not a mechanic and I haven't done much servicing on cars before.

This on a 57 plate hatchback 2.5t wrx.

Recently ran low on coolant, was in a bit of a rush so bought some of the universal stuff thinking I'll sort it out later. Anyway been doing some reading and its coming back saying that they should only run green coolant?

Which I've never come across, is this the waterless stuff?

Also, as seems to be a common problem with these, it does seem to burn a fair bit of oil, I've been topping it up regularly and it had a full change a couple of months back. What grade oil would people recommend? The engine is completely standard but the car only gets used for short journeys mainly - I drive 3 miles to work and back each day.

Please excuse my lack of technical ability!

Thanks in advance
Ewen
Old 27 November 2015, 08:20 PM
alcazar
Scooby Regular

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts

First off, how did it "run short of coolant"???? The cooling system is a closed, pressurised system, so first question is, where did it go and why? You REALLY need to sort that.

Secondly, unless it was only down a little, topping up is a dangerous game unless done via the turbo hose at the rear of the header tank...pull it off and stuff a funnel down it, or run the risk of airlocks, which you cannot bleed out.

Thirdly, all this stuff about coolant colour is just silly. The colour is just a dye. There are two types, but yours is almost certainly filled with the commoner glycol based stuff, so any from a decent motor factors, suitable for an alloy engine should be fine. Dilute 50% with water.

Lastly, your manual will give you oil recommendations, or wait for someone else who runs a 2.5 on here to tell you.
HTH
Old 27 November 2015, 11:11 PM
ewennicholls
Scooby Newbie

Originally Posted by alcazar