Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

explain wireless broadband please to a newbie

Search this Thread

Old 16 December 2009, 09:19 AM
^OPM^
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default explain wireless broadband please to a newbie

Hi,
After many years with a cable modem and virgin i have moved house and now need a new ISP, i am favouring going with O2 as it seems a good price with no download limit.

I am a complete newbie about wireless, but as i understand it , if i go with the basic package at O2 i get a 'g' type router which is the basic one but hopefully be good enough for me.

What else do i need that wont come with the package that they would send me, ie - a wireless network card or usb wireless dongle thingy-which is best as seem so many differnat types on ebay with different speeds etc, bearing in mind my pc is approx 6 - 7 years old so doesnt have a higher speed USB2 port.

Also i would plug router into main BT socket and be totally wireless and not have my desktop plugged into phone socket-is that ok?

need help please-thank you
Old 16 December 2009, 10:00 AM
Coffin Dodger
Scooby Regular

From reading your post I assume you are referring ADSL (with the option of wireless LAN), wireless broadband could be misinterpreted as broadband via the mobile phone network (i.e. 3G/HSDPA).

First up: Router plugged into phone socket (via ADSL microfilter). You will need to configure the router with the username / password etc. given by O2 it should then synch up the router with the ADSL equipment at the telephone exchange and connect it to O2's network. The router may be pre-configured by O2 in which case you may not need to do the above.