Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Nest

Search this Thread

Old 20 November 2016, 02:13 PM
JackClark
Scooby Senior

Received 51 Likes on 34 Posts
Default Nest

Just ordered one. I've had my eye on them for years, took the plunge last night when my current wifi thermostat failed on again, it's been brilliant but it's well over 10 years old.

Anyone have one?
Old 20 November 2016, 06:07 PM
JackClark
Scooby Senior

This could technically get me banned but here goes. There's not a lot of love for Apple at Nest. Interesting story, but I'd rather have HomeKit integration.
Old 20 November 2016, 07:48 PM
BlkKnight
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Why apple no likey Nest?

I've been running the stat + smoke detectors for a couple of years without incident.
Old 20 November 2016, 08:19 PM
JackClark
Scooby Senior

Bloke works for Apple, did a great job on the iPod, went on his own made the Nest, Google buy Nest, company turns to ****, bloke leaves Nest. Something like that.
Old 20 November 2016, 09:22 PM
tarmac terror
Scooby Regular

HAve you taken a look at the latest EcoBee model? I think I would be swayed towards it over the Nest product.

Decent write up in the link below;

https://www.cnet.com/news/move-over-...et-smart-home/
Old 20 November 2016, 11:43 PM
JackClark
Scooby Senior

I did. Nest have updated since that review which tightened the gap If my system was a bit fancier I may well have bought the ecobee.
Old 21 November 2016, 07:50 AM
ALi-B
Support Scoobynet!

Received 301 Likes on 240 Posts

I'm running EVOhome, did look at Nest but it didn't have the zone control that EVOhome did (without requiring major re-plumbing). I think all these products have the initial concept right but the reality is they an be frustratingly limited. Even so it's good stuff like this is finally becoming mainstream.