Notices
Car Care Discussion on how to keep your pride and joy looking at it's best.

My paintwork correction guide

Search this Thread

Old 30 January 2015, 04:21 PM
staccato
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My paintwork correction guide

I created this guide a few years ago but have just updated it. A few other forums have added this as a sticky and been using it as a step by step guide.

I've spent several years teaching myself how to correct/improve most things on cars and thought I'd share this with forum members who might be worried about attempting certain things on their own cars.

I've kind of settled on the following method for everything from washing to full paintwork correction and have used experience, mistakes, youtube videos, trial and error and detailing forums to get there. I'm not a professional detailer but I have been practicing on cars over an almost 10 year period and now have it bang on every time I detail. If I were brave I'd leave my well paid teaching job and do this full time.

Washing

If the car is heavily soiled, I use my Karcher and a detergent bottle attached to the hose. In the detergent bottle, I use Snow Foam. I spray this onto the car, leave for 10 mins, then rinse with the jetwash.
If the car is only dusty, like in summer, I just hose with a normal hose pipe, then begin the following.

I use two 20 litre buckets with grit guards. I've labelled these with Dodo Juice 'wash and 'rinse' stickers bought from ebay. The idea is you fill one bucket with warm water and shampoo, and the other bucket is filled with plain warm water. When washing the car, you dip the sponge/mitt into the shampoo water, wash one single panel, then dip the sponge/mitt into the rinse water. At the base of the rinse bucket is a grit guard which you should rub the mitt against to dislodge the grit from the sponge/mitt. The grit then sinks to the bottom of the bucket and it trapped by the grit guard. I also have a grit guard in the wash bucket.