View Full Version : Have you dealt with 'Motormatch'?


Bexlee
12 September 2004, 13:29
I have an escort estate TDi for sale on autotrader, and this Motormatch company have cotacted me a few times. They claim to be able to get people viewing the car & will guarantee meeting my asking price. The idea is they finance the buyers. Upon a successful sale they refund my registration fee (about £80).

Sounds great, but I wouldn't give credit card details to someone who rang up on spec working for an organisation I'd never heard of. But I don't want to miss out if they are reputable & it works. They have a website: www.motormatch.co.uk.

I'd be grateful for any useful feedback.

Bexlee

Iwan
12 September 2004, 13:39
Nooooooooooooooooooo don't do it!

I haven't used them but they'll be one of the scam rip-off companies that canvass people who advertise on Autotrader.

There's another more notorious one called Cardata that people have complained about on here recently, loads of people have written to Top Gear to complain about these companies. Better of saving your £80 and re-advertising on Autotrader.

Do a search on here for "Cardata" and you'll see what i mean.

HTH

Iwan

Bexlee
12 September 2004, 14:33
Thanks Iwan

Sounds just like Cardata. Although Motormatch do assure me that they have someone wanting to view tonight! ;)

AndyC_772
12 September 2004, 15:28
These companies always claim to have someone wanting to view your car. Thing I can't figure out is, who are these people who:

- sign up with a company that will give them enough details of a car for sale that they're sure they want to view, despite the fact that this same company presumably won't give them the seller's contact number until the seller has paid a registration fee, and

- are completely incapable of searching through Auto Trader themselves.

I doubt these people exist - or even if they do, the chances of them wanting your particular car (when they may have said 'I want a diesel' or 'I want a car for about £xxx) are slim to nil.

Keep your £80, it buys a lot of ads with with legitimate companies.

AndyC_772
12 September 2004, 15:31
ps. they may 'guarantee' a sale at your asking price, but ask them to commit to a timescale and you'll be fobbed off. Anyone can get silly money for an old banger if they're prepared to wait for a suitably desperate moron to come along, but it could take a very, very long time indeed.

If it was 'guaranteed sale at your asking price in 3 weeks or your money back' then I might be less cynical, but 'guaranteed sale at your asking price (provided you wait long enough)' is a vacuous, empty promise and a waste of £80.

andrewdelvard
12 September 2004, 15:39
Agree with all the comments above. Don't do it.

Bexlee
12 September 2004, 15:44
I had thought about your first point, AndyC_772. I think the idea is that the buyers are only capable of buying because they have finance arranged through Motormatch & I guess they have been turned down by everywhere else. ??

Thanks for all the comments.

AndyC_772
12 September 2004, 16:06
If that's the case, then how come a company is able to provide loans for buyers that more conventional finance companies would turn down? Hm... maybe it's because they cover their losses by fleecing sellers too?

Just say 'no', you'll only regret it.

Dazza01
12 September 2004, 17:42
.Although Motormatch do assure me that they have someone wanting to view tonight! ;)


Big con m8,

why don't you pay me £80 and i'll send round a few mates who MIGHT want to buy ur car, eventually :D:D

NotoriousREV
12 September 2004, 18:07
Do them a deal: they register you and you'll give them £80 when they actually sell your car! See how they respond to that one ;)

Pedro_79
12 September 2004, 18:09
Just tell 'em you'll pay £100 if and when one of their clients buys your car for the asking price.

That should shut them up! :razz:

StickyMicky
12 September 2004, 18:54
ring them up and make out that you want to buy a car you havent seen before and have they got any on there books and see what happens


LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.2.0 © 2008, Crawlability, Inc.